Grassroots Groups Decry Attack on Democracy at Norcross EDA hearing


A reprint from Insider NJ

A coalition of grassroots groups across New Jersey issued the following statement following the forceable removal of New Jersey Working Families State Director Sue Altman from a state Senate hearing on the corrupt tax incentive program:

“George Norcross’ shady political machine was unleashed today in public against a grassroots leader who dared to question South Jersey’s unelected political boss. Sue Altman’s forceable removal from the committee hearing for daring to speak out against King George is an affront to our democratic values as a state. She was singled out among a group of advocates in a hearing room stacked by Norcross’ allies in the building trades who were there to cheer for their political patron.

“The state troopers who dragged Sue out of that hearing room were acting at the behest of Senator Bob Smith, who was too cowardly to be confronted with a robust public debate. The stunt backfired – people all over New Jersey have seen the video and have decried the use of force against Sue.

“We refuse to be cowed by George Norcross’ political machine. We refuse to be silenced. We refuse to sit back and watch our legislators – many of whom we helped elect – protect an unelected insurance broker against the interests of the people of New Jersey. We demand an immediate apology for the violation of our democracy today.”


Saily Avelenda, Executive Director, NJ 11th for Change
Marci Bandelli, VP and Co-Founder, Westfield 20/20
Melissa Barbera Cicchetti, member, ATNJ Bergen
Staci Berger, Central Jersey Progressive Democrats
Blue Wave NJ
Cathy Brienza, JOLT
Suzanne Buller Kronfeld
Camden Parent Union
Camden We Choose
Central Jersey Progressive Democrats
Celeste Colon
Collingswood Progressive Democrats
Cooper River Indivisible
Matt Dragon, NJ 11th for Change
Lillian Duggan, President and Co-Founder, Westfield 20/20
Margaret Illis, NJ7 Forward
Indivisible NJ 5th District
Justin Goldsman, Our Revolution Essex County
Alexis Larkin, Member, People Power
Janet Lawrence, Westfield 20/20 Steering Committee
NJ7 Forward
NJ-08 For Progress
NJ 11th for Change
Mara Novak, Political Director, NJ 11th for Change
NJ Badass Teachers Association
Our Revolution Essex County
Piscataway Progressive Democrats
Jesse Schwartzman, Member, JOLT
SOMA Action
South Jersey Women for Progressive Change
South Jersey Progressive Democrats
STAND Central NJ
Susan Steinberg, Mahwah After the Mark
Herb Tarbous, Piscataway Progressive Democratic Org.
Michelle Van Allen, member, ATNJ
Women for Progress

→ Read the full piece here.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.